The Viaplay platform is closing in Canada
The Viaplay platform will be shut down in Canada on the 28th of February, 2024. You can keep watching Viaplay’s content via our partner even after. All account holders on Viaplay in Canada have also been informed via mail where you can also find more information about what happens to your subscription. All account holders can access their Viaplay account until the 28th February, 2024. Read more details below based on your subscription type.
I signed up on viaplay.com - what happens now?
Whether you are a monthly or annual subscriber to Viaplay in Canada, your subscription will continue as it is until the 28th of February, 2024 – unless you make changes to it. After the 28th of February, the Viaplay platform will be closed, your subscription will be automatically cancelled, and you will receive a refund of the remaining days in your subscription. Please allow 3-5 bank days for the refund to reach you.
I signed up via Roku - what happens now?
If you have a monthly subscription
Your subscription will not be renewed after 29th of January nor will you be billed after that. You will be able to stream for 30 days after your final payment. I.e. if your subscription is usually renewed on the 15th of every month, your subscription will end automatically on the 15th of February, 2024. You can still access your Viaplay account until the 28th of February.
If you have an annual subscription
Your annual subscription will be cancelled on 29th of February. You will receive a refund for all remaining days of your subscription, which will be calculated based on your billing date. This will happen automatically and requires no action from you. Please note that it may take a few banking days for the refund to be visible on your payment account.
I signed up via Apple - what happens now?
If you currently have an active subscription, your subscription will not be renewed after 29th of January nor will you be billed after that. You will be able to stream for 30 days after your final payment. I.e. if your subscription is usually renewed on the 15th of every month, your subscription will end automatically on the 15th of February, 2024. You can still access your Viaplay account until the 28th of February.
How do I know what kind of subscription I have?
You can find more information about your subscription by visiting your account pages at account.viaplay.com. You can see whether you have an active subscription or not, as well as how it is paid for.
Download your receipts before end of February
No. All changes will be done automatically by the end of February. If you wish to cancel your subscription before that, you can make changes from account pages at account.viaplay.com. This applies if you started your subscription at viaplay.com – for subscription via Roku and Apple we refer to their services instead.
I want to keep watching Viaplay content after February 2024
After closing the Viaplay platform in Canada, Viaplay content will still be available through Crave. You can subscribe to them and read more on their pages here!
I want to cancel my subscription
Login to viaplay.com and go to My account. When cancelling your subscription, make sure to go through all the steps. After a successful cancellation you will receive a confirmation via email – check your junk mail inbox if you can’t find the email.
If you are a user via Apple, you can manage your subscriptions via Apple ID settings. Roku users can make changes via Rokus own platform.
I got an email from Viaplay but I am not an active customer
As the Viaplay platform is closing in Canada, every account holder has been notified of the changes. It means that there is a Viaplay account with your email address – however you don’t necessarily have an active subscription on that account. Login to viaplay.com and check My account to see if you have an active subscription.
Your personal data
We will not gather any more personal data from you after the Viaplay platform has been closed. All accounts on Viaplay and your personal data connected to them will be deleted 60 days after the close down on 29th of February. This doesn’t require any actions from you and will happen automatically.